The La Verne City Council unanimously adopted Resolution No. 21-47 in July 2021, which initiated the districting process with the intent of creating five districts which would result in having a rotating mayor.

While not part of the resolution, the Council also discussed exploring a four-district system with a mayor elected at-large should members of the public submit maps and feedback using that type of system. Because of this, the City’s demographer, National Demographics Corporation (NDC), may explore the possibilities of both four districts with an elected at-large mayor as well as five districts with a rotating mayor through this process.

At the end of the mapping process, the City Council will make a final determination on which district map system will be adopted and whether to move forward with implementing new districts for the June 2022 election.